Spanish Level System

We offer a wide range of levels, from absolute beginners to very advanced.

Students will normally need at least 40 hours tuition at any one level before advancing to the next course.

The different levels

Spanish levels


The table gives an idea of how our levels compare to those established by the Council of Europe's Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and by the Instituto Cervantes for its Diploma de Español como Lengua Extranjera (DELE) examinations.

Key to table

CEFR: Common European Framework

DELE: Diploma de Español como Lengua Extranjera (the exams organised by the Instituto Cervantes)

The DELE levels are equivalent to the Cambridge English language exams: KET (A2), PET (B1), First Certificate (B2), CAE (C1) and Proficiency (C2).

Further information

See also our DELE exam preparation courses in Playa del Carmen.

More about the Instituto Cervantes exams

Accreditation for our Spanish courses

Instituto Cervantes AccreditationDELE ExamsBildungsurlaub

Further accreditation details